Buy the Quantaray 18-200 mm DC 3.5-6.3 Lens f/Sony DSLR on http://www.wolfcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Quantaray 18-200 mm DC 3.5-6.3 Lens f/Sony DSLR image
 
(based on 9 ratings)
Brand: Quantaray
Located in: Lenses For Sony / Minolta
  • Exclusively designed for use with digital SLR cameras featuring APS-C size image sensor.
  • High zoom ratio 11:1.
  • Compact, Lightweight and Durable construction with diameter of 70mm (2.8 in.), length of 78.1mm (3.1 in.) and weight of 405g./14.3oz. Lens has Metal Mount.
  • Minimum focusing distance of 45cm (17.7 in.) at all focal lengths.
Compact, Lightweight Superzoom lens, with high zoom ratio 11:1

This high zoom ratio lens is exclusively designed for digital SLR cameras and capable of covering a wide range of focal lengths from wide-angle to telephoto. Two Special Low Dispersion (SLD) glass elements and two hybrid aspherical lenses offer the utmost correction for all types of aberrations, and enables this extended range super zoom lens to be housed in a compact and lightweight construction of 70mm (2.8 in.) diameter, and 78.1mm (3.1 in.) in length, and weighing just 405g/14.3oz. The new lens coating reduces flare and ghost, which is a common problem of digital cameras and also creates an optimum color balance. This lens has a minimum focusing distance of 45cm (17.7 in.) at all focal lengths and has maximum magnification of 1:4.4.

The lens design incorporates an inner focusing system, which prevents the front of the lens from rotating, making it particularly suitable for using circular polarizing filters and petal shaped lens hoods. The overall length of the lens does not change during focusing, ensuring convenient handling and ease of use. A zoom lock switch eliminates zoom creep during transportation, a convenient addition when traveling.

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
3.9 stars
(based on 9 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(5), Semi-professional(4)
Pros:
Consistent output(4), Durable(4), Easily interchangeable(5), Fast / accurate auto-focus(9), Lightweight(4)
Best Uses:
General purpose(6), Landscape photography(4), Portraits(3), Sports/action(4)

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
very comparable to Tamron 18-250
By alpha-pdxVerified Reviewer from portland OR on 6/24/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Lightweight, Small
Best Uses:
General Use, Kit lens replacement
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 18-200 mm DC 3.5-6.3 Lens f/Sony DSLR:

Side-by-side tests show these lenses comparable within the range. Both are less sharp ~55-100mm but good at either end. It's lighter (due to 50mm less travel), has better 'bokeh', focuses faster and my copy stays at f/5.6 to 180mm. A very handy lens; I'm willing to sell the 18-250!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Worth Every Penny...
By BobDutyImagesVerified Reviewer from Cape Coral, FL on 5/16/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
NONE
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 18-200 mm DC 3.5-6.3 Lens f/Sony DSLR:

I am very happy with the performance of this lens. It has a very quick focus over the entire range with my Alpha300. I like the fact that I don't have to worry about changing lenses when out on rough seas... that sea mist can be brutal on a sensor :)

Images shared by: BobDutyImages

Fighting a King Mackerel

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Very pleasantly surprised
By shutterbugVerified Purchaser from Troy, NY on 5/6/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy to use, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Smaller than I thought, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Night Photography, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 18-200 mm DC 3.5-6.3 Lens f/Sony DSLR:

I use this lens to photograph my property, wildlife, action and sports shots. I love to be able to zoom in on animals and birds without distrubing them. I would totally recommed this to anyone.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great multi-purpose lens
By DrewVerified Reviewer from Evans, GA on 3/31/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Heavy, Lens Creep
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 18-200 mm DC 3.5-6.3 Lens f/Sony DSLR:

I have used this lens on several trips now. Landscape shots are better than I could hope for. No need to carry more than this one lens. Close-ups are good and the zoom is also impressive.

Images shared by: Drew

Ecuador landscape

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

Donkey from about 10 feet

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

[1 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
lens froze camera
By frankVerified Reviewer from abq new mexico on 3/24/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 18-200 mm DC 3.5-6.3 Lens f/Sony DSLR:

I have used this lens with my a700 sony and for several months it was the greatest lens i used, however yesterday the lens froze my camera, i tried it on several other cameras both minolta d5 sony a 350 and my newest a900 sony, it freezes the camera and will not function untill I take the lens off and put another lens on then the camera works fine
I think I got a dud.

 
great
By Joe BuilderVerified Purchaser from king of prussia PA on 1/18/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus
Best Uses:
Landscape Photography, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 18-200 mm DC 3.5-6.3 Lens f/Sony DSLR:

I bought this lens for photographing my construction projects and my childrens sporting events. So far it's great. I love the range of zoom. Well worth the money.

Images shared by: Joe Builder

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
I WOULD BUY THIS PRODUCT AGAIN AND AGAIN
By BIRDVerified Reviewer from TEMECULA, CA on 7/25/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
None so far
Best Uses:
Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 18-200 mm DC 3.5-6.3 Lens f/Sony DSLR:

IN DOOR PORTRAITS

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Versatility that won't break the bank.
By LiverDogVerified Reviewer from Austin, TX on 7/13/2007
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 18-200 mm DC 3.5-6.3 Lens f/Sony DSLR:

This is the most versatile lens I have. Its fast enough to shoot well in lower light situations, and the zoom range is awsome. As someone who shoots maily with primes, I have to say that this lens impressed me. It goes the distance for medium range zooms.

Images shared by: LiverDog

Purple lotus in overcast light

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
"Great overall lens"
By Ion JeffVerified Reviewer from Tracy, CA on 6/8/2007
Pros:
Sharp Focus, Versatile
Cons:
None so far
Best Uses:
Architecture, General Use, Portrait Lens, Professional Work
Describe Yourself:
Advanced Amateur, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 18-200 mm DC 3.5-6.3 Lens f/Sony DSLR:

Wonderful lens for practically every situation. I just purchased it for interior architectual photos and it did very well. I also was pleased on the way it allows you to have only one lens for many situations. I use it on my 20D and am very pleased so far.

Images shared by: Ion Jeff

Ball or Strike, you be the umpire.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 WolfCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.